canadapaster.blogg.se

Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac
Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac











driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac
  1. #Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac for mac#
  2. #Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac install#
  3. #Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac portable#
  4. #Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac software#
  5. #Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac password#

The usable space will be less than this once you format the drive. The actual size of the drive before formatting with a partition is 3725.99GB. The Type C connector is USB 3.1 without the usual two flips of the connector before it finally goes in.Ĭons: Not much to complain about. Drive also comes with an adapter if you don't have the USB type C connector. There is a white status LED, it is a little bright, but not blinding. To use solely for windows, you can format the drive as NTFS in windows from the Disk Management utility. There is also a procedure for getting a mac to mount a drive as read/write for NTFS, but by default OSX only mounts NTFS partitions as read only.

#Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac install#

If you want to use this drive with both a mac and a pc, you will either need to install an HFS+ driver for windows or try your luck with exFAT (might be buggy for external drives, read up on it before you do it). Windows will not recognize this drive out of the box. Between the weight of the drive and the rubber feet, I don't think it will be an issue getting pulled off the table. It is also a little heavier than other drives I have had which is good because it doesn't slide around if you adjust your macbook. It is a little thicker than other drives I have had (~0.8"), but there is 4TB of storage so it is to be expected. Pros: Lots of storage for a not bad price.

#Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac for mac#

I’m writing this in “other thoughts” for a reason, it’s kind of annoying right now, but maybe in the future the USB-C support will be useful so it might be a good forward-thinking design.Ĭomes formatted with the HFS+ filesystem out of the box and intended for Mac use, but there is nothing at all preventing you from formatting the disk to any filesystem you want and using it on any other system. Unfortunately this does give you an extra part to lose, and it makes the connector to the computer separable, so if you pull on the cable instead of the jack, it will become disconnected. I don’t own any computers with this connection yet, but fortunately they include an adapter to a standard USB 3.0 connection. Overall Review: As mentioned in the description, this hard drive comes with a USB-C cable. It isn’t obnoxious, it’s just easily the thickest 2.5” external hard drive that I’ve owned. I am quite pleased with the performance.Īll in all, the important things that I would look for in an external hard drive are more than satisfied here, I would recommend this drive to others.Ĭons: This hard drive is a bit thicker than you might be used to for external hard drives. All in all I think this is absolutely astonishing for an external hard drive. I ran some performance tests on it, and got back an average read rate of around 270MB/s and an average write rate of around 94MB/s, with 1000 100MB samples. It’s able to be powered from just the USB connection without any external power required, which is nice and not guaranteed with a hard drive of this capacity. Pros: This is a nice external hard drive, and fulfils all of my expectations.

#Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac software#

WD Discovery software and WD Drive UtilitiesĪdditional Information Date First Available

#Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac portable#

My Passport Ultra for Mac portable storage We provide a downloadable HFS+ driver for Windows 10, 8.1 or 7 to enable you to read and write to your My Passport Ultra for Mac drive without reformatting. With WD Discovery software, you can also work across both Mac and PC. My Passport Ultra for Mac is formatted for Time Machine and ready to deliver plug-and-play storage out of the box.

driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac

WD Discovery software can also be used to manage your drive settings such as reformatting, LED control and more.

driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac

To help preserve your online life, WD Discovery allows you to import your content from popular social media and cloud storage services like Facebook, Dropbox and Google Drive.

#Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac password#

WD Security function within WD Discovery helps keep your files private with a password of your choosing, making it easy to enable password protection and 256-bit AES Hardware Encryption.įusing modern anodized metal and textures, the My Passport Ultra for Mac portable drive matches your personal style and the latest Mac computers.

driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac

Password Protection with 256-bit AES Hardware Encryption Learn more about the Western Digital WDBPMV0040BSL-WESN Best Seller Rankingįormatted HFS+ Journaled for macOS Mojave, High Sierra, Sierra or El Capitan.ĭownloadable HFS driver to read/write on Windows.Ĭompatibility may vary depending on user's hardware configuration and operating system.įeaturing USB-C technology, the My Passport Ultra for Mac portable drive delivers quick and easy storage for your Mac, while the included USB 3.1 adapter makes sure it's compatible with older machines.













Driver mac high sierra western digital my passport for mac